Governance Committee

The Governance Committee provides oversight of the Foundation’s structure, and reviews policies and processes to insure compliance with the Foundation’s mission and good governance practices. In addition, the Committee reviews and assesses the participation and engagement of the members of the Board, identifies candidates for election to the Board, and develops and reviews succession plans related to Directors and Officers as well as senior Foundation staff. The Committee fosters an environment of open dialogue, sound governance and self-assessment among Directors, Foundation officers and staff.


Harry S. Johnson, Chair
Alison L. Asti
Roger R. Blunt
Joseph V. Bowen
Alan C. Cason
Hugh F. Cole
Alfonso N. Cornish
B. Gary Dando
Michael A. Gaines
Jaye S. Gamble
Walter I. Jones
Larry Letow
Pamela Love Manning
Eric E. McLauchlin
David F. Mister
William H. "Hassan" Murphy
J. William Murray
Natalie B. Sherman
Alicia Wilson
Bonnie B. Stein
Marianne Horrigan, Staff


Download our Governance Committee Charter

Our Vision

Our vision is to attract broad resources that transform the USM and its institutions, create a network of advocates to embrace the USM’s role as an educator and economic engine, and to grow a long-term, sustainable culture of philanthropy across the University System of Maryland.

Learn More About USMF